First Fishtail Braid Attempt

Bonjour! I’m still on the mend (and still on my no carb diet!) but doing SO much better than before. Nearly back to normal.

Blog business: I want to get into the habit of doing more frequent, smaller posts, as opposed to cumulative bigger ones. It’ll put less pressure on me to come up with “grand” ideas, and help me get into better blogging habits.

To start it off, here is how I wore my hair yesterday. haha. Yes, soooo exciting (not), but it was my first-ever attempt at fishtail braiding. My camera is never far from me, so it got documented. 🙂

So . . . they look like messy regular braids. They’re more interesting than normal, so I was okay with it.

I decided to wrap the top of the side pony with unbraided hair then secure the tails together at the bottom.

It is just carb-craving me, or does it somewhat resemble an apple fritter? haha. The end result was a wide, wavy-looking, messy braid. (The braid is on the other side now because the first pics were mirror reflections.)

 I’m pretty untalented when it comes to braiding, but I think I could master this with lots more practice. Do you have a favorite type of braid?

5 Comments

Filed under Beauty

5 responses to “First Fishtail Braid Attempt

  1. stilishbabe

    they look pretty good!you should try to take thinner layers to give it a more sophisticated effect! You should check out my blog! I have a lot of easy hairstyles ideas !xo (oh,your hairstyle makes me think of Blake Lively!:D )

    • Thanks! Do you mean I should take smaller pieces as I go across, from side to side? They were pretty small sections, around half an inch thick. I don’t think I did them tight enough to see the fishtail. Thanks for the advice! I’m checking out your blog right now. 🙂

      • stilishbabe

        yep!that’s what i mean!the smaller the better and yes,it should be very tight! thank you! xo

  2. Rachelle

    I have crazy long, super layered hair, and three sets of baby/toddler hands that like to get allllll tangled up in it, so I’ve been playing with lots of inside-out french and rope braids lately, ending with a bun centered or low on the side. I love all the waves at the end of the day!
    It’s been a long time since I did a fishtail braid– you can bet Lila will be sporting one tomorrow though, now that I’ve been reminded of them. 🙂

  3. Oh I know! I love that when you get sick of your braid (or in my case it gets unbearably frizzy) you can take it out and have near perfect crimped waves. Lila is lucky; I wish I had someone on hand to braid my hair. I’m quite lacking talent in the hair department. 🙂

What do you think?

